Brazil Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.7
 Rooms  4.9
 Cleanliness  4.9
 Location  4.9
 Security & Safety  4.9
 Service & Staff  4.9
 Food / Dining  4.8
 Total  4.8

"A nicer, friendly place with a better breakfast could be impossible to find"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sam G. of Natal, RN, Brazil
Reviewed:   August 30, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I were lucky enough to find this fabulous little pousada to stay in during Carnival last year on our first visit to Floripa. From the start, over email, we could tell that Marcia was going to be a wonderful host. She went out of her way to help plan our visit and let us know about local events and so on. Over the course of the week that we stayed with her she became a good friend and we'll be going back to see her early next year. The accommodation is spacious and the location very central to the town of Lagoa de Conceicao. The breakfast is frankly amazing, especially the organic muesli that sets you up for the day. But the best thing was chatting to Marcia about what we had planned for the day and getting lots of suggestions and ideas, as there is so much to see and do in Floripa. With only 3 rooms, it's probably good to book well in advance as judging from the other reviews here, everyone who has stayed enjoyed it as much as we did!

"AAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Massimo L. of Frosinone, Italy
Reviewed:   January 19, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Marcia became more a friend that simply the owner of the B&B...you will feel what I am talking about.
Rooms very well decorated, the place is wonderful and very well located (near the centre of the Lagoa); veeeeeery good breakfast with an amazing natural yogurt with granola!!!
We had just some problems with the room (some sockets were not working and there was a water leak in the bathroom) but she tried suddenly to fix them.

"Wouldnt surprise me if this becomes the No1 B&B"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Herta D. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 29, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have only just come back from our south American trip and this is the B&B by which we compared all our other b&bs against. Where shall I start on what is so good about this gorgeous place. The part of Florianopolis it is located in is perfect to explore the island. To be quite honest I did no research as to its location because other write ups praised it so much I just wanted to stay here. Its perfect as its a five minute walk from the attractive town centre where there are lots of restaurants and bars but far enough away to be quiet and tranquil. Its probably about 20 minutes from both the bus station and the airport so taxis were not expensive.

The quality bed and bedding meant we slept like logs every night . The breakfast was perfectly balanced -excellent coffee, fruit,fruit juice, thick yoghurt with granola and honey and the best bread I have eaten in Brazil.
The best part of breakfast however was the company of the lovely Marcia. She would join us for a coffee and her breadth of knowledge was so diverse and interesting that it took a great effort on our part to tear ourselves away.

I really have nothing but good to say about this B&B. A plus for us was no television which meant we spent time reading our books
in the hammock, we left a couple of books and we suggest you do the sa,e so that when we visit again there will be other books to choose from. There is also wi fi which is perfect for you ipod users!

We feel a bit envious of those of you who have yet to visit - its certainly a place we would come back to

"Most Wonderful B&B You Can Imagine"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Gretchen W. of Boulder, CO, United States
Reviewed:   August 19, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Janela de Marcia is one of the best places I have ever stayed. It wasn't just the beautiful surroundings, wonderful bed and cozy accommodations...it was Marcia! Her house was a hub of activity every morning as the other guests and ourselves plied Marcia with questions about what to do and how to do it. She opened up the beautiful world of Florianopolis to us. She brought us to restaurants, dropped us at hikes and was a wonderful hostess. She and her family made us feel right at home. Her breakfast consisted of fresh papaya, rolls with a delicious local cheese and Marcia's homemade pumpkin/coconut preserves, yogurt and granola and coffee. I almost changed my trip to stay on there for another week. The location was fantastic as well, it was only a short walk to downtown and also to the hike around Lagoa de Conceição (which is fantastic!). My only negative comment was that the room offered a fireplace and it was COLD when we got there, I was looking forward to a fire, however we were her first winter guests and it wasn't working yet. She supplied a toasty heater and it was warm in the room, but I was really looking forward to the fireplace in the room. If you are the same, check with her to see if it's working before you go. Besides that, I highly recommend it.

"How fortunate I feel!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Eve F. of Pittsburg, Pensilvania, United States
Reviewed:   July 7, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My first trip to Brazil, Florianopolis, was in June 2010. I was fortunate
to have found Marcia's B&B on the website. I spoke with Marcia a few times prior
making reservations as she provided a wealth of information on organizing
my trip. I found Marchia to be a wonderful hostess. She is well traveled as she has lived in both Europe and US, so she understood what is like traveling abroad. She was very helpful on any requests and very accommodating.

I found Marcia's B&B to be of high standards. The room was exceptionally clean with fresh fragrance throughout. The most memorable is the bed being incredibly comfortable and matching the standards of my own at home. The sheets were even of high thread-count Egyptian cotton like in a 5 star hotel. The highlight of my stay was the freshly made breakfasts served each morning. They consisted of fresh local fruits like papaya, freshly squeezed juices, delightful arrays of Portuguese cheese breads accompanied by freshly made yoghurt and local cheese. In a few occasions we saw a monkey swinging of the tree that grows very large and yummy avocados. It was incredible to see it.
Marcia's B&B is located very conveniently as one can easily walk to the local town center at any time. It only takes 10 min. to walk there and it's very safe and lovely neighborhood. We will definitely be choosing Marcia's again for our next trip!

"Fantastic, I would definately recommend here"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer G. of Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 22, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed here early February 2010 with my boyfriend. We were overwhelmed with how friendly and helpful Marcia was to us. She recommended fantastic restaurants, bars , beaches , tours etc. She went out of her way to help us. The room was great - spacious, clean and the breakfast was delicious! I would definately reccommend that you stay here. Excellent location for nightlife and within walking distance to the lagoon and easily accessible to all the beaches by bus. What a wonderful way to experience life in Florianopolis.

"good experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jay S. of Sooke,BC, Canada
Reviewed:   February 19, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Need an affordable and comfortable place in Florianopolis? This is it!
Situated in clean and quiet part of Floripa the Janela de Marcia Bed and Breakfast has all the ingredients that visitors to St.Catarina could wish for.
Janela assisted by her son Gabriel have very defined and friendly ways of how to keep up with the visitors needs.Their services are excellent from the top to the bottom.
Their organic breakfasts are delicious and home feeling atmosphere puts you right into your comfort level.
Spending your time at this place will get you all the local information that you require.

Great choice!

"Cozy Place!!"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Antonio C. of Campinas, Brazil
Reviewed:   January 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Janela de Marcia is a very cozy place! Every small detail of the room has Marcias touch. Very clean, good breakfest. She is very attentious and can help you with everything in the city. Very good location.
If you need a TV, take yours with you, but I don't think it is necessary when youre travelling to Floripa. Some improvements in the "Casa açoriana" could happen, as an Air conditioner. But the Fan was already OK.
I recomend it!

"Janela de Marcia is a beautiful choice in Florianopolis"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Carmen B. of Austin, United States
Reviewed:   December 20, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I recently stayed at the new Janela de Marcia Bed and Breakfast and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Florianopolis who wants to be centrally located, in a beautiful neighborhood and close to nightlife and beaches. Marcia has two small homes behind her own main home. The rooms are fashionably furnished (difficult to find in Florianopolis) and reflect her own extensive world travels. Marcia is a wonderful host and I really enjoyed eating breakfast at the big table of her enormous porch, watching the local monkeys and looking on to her lush landscaping. Getting a room at Janela de Marcia is like reserving a private home for yourself in a quiet upscale neighborhood.


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




BrazilInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us